top of page
  • Zhanele May Africano

VP Robredo: No decision yet for 2022 elections

by Zhanele May Africano

Vice President Leni Robredo again denied claims on her running for the Camarines Sur gubernatorial post, June 3, saying she has yet to decide for the 2022 elections.


In a Facebook post, Robredo addressed the rumors after former Camarines Sur congressman Rolando Andaya Jr. said she would run for governor in her home province.


“Sa gitna ng maraming haka-haka, uulitin ko lang ang ilang beses ko na ring sinabi: Wala pang desisyon na ako'y tatakbong gobernador. Nananatili akong bukas na maging kandidato sa pagkapangulo,” said Robredo.


(Amid all these speculations, let me repeat what I have already said: I still have no decision on running for governor. I remain open to being a candidate for president.)


The vice president also said there are many considerations on her possible presidential bid.


“Maraming konsiderasyon ang isinasaalang-alang, pero siguradong magdedesisyon ako sa tamang panahon. Sinisiguro ko sa lahat na ipapaalam ko kung may narating nang desisyon,” added Robredo.


(There are many things to consider, but I will surely decide at the right time. I assure everyone that I will let you know once a decision has been reached.)


Meanwhile, Andaya claimed Robredo said the ex-solon convinced her to run for the post last February.


“Iyong last kong nakausap in person, si Congressman Andaya ay February. February of 2021. Pumunta sila sa office at inaaya nga ako. Inaaya ako na mag-governor,” she said.


(The last time I talked to, in person, former Congressman Andaya was back in February of 2021. They went to my office and asked me to run for governor.)


Furthermore, Robredo said while she still has no decisions, she is in touch with people who can help her decide for the next elections.


“So sa akin, totoo na attractive sa akin iyong option (gubernatorial post) na iyon pero wala pa akong desisyon (…) Sinasabi ko na nasa proseso ako ngayon ng pagkausap ng maraming tao to help us decide kung tatakbo tayo sa national o hindi,” she explained.


(So for me, that option (gubernatorial post) is attractive to me but there is still no decision. (…) I am saying that I am in the process of talking to many people to help us decide whether or not we will run for a national post.)


The vice president remains busy with her office’s coronavirus pandemic response, which she said is also why she could not decide at the moment.


39 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page